All Four Stitch Outs of Block One Done!

This is a scan of one of my stitch outs of Block One of the Hoop Sisters EmbroidaBlock of the Month 2009

Scan of one of my stitch outs of Block 1

Scan of one of my stitch outs of Block 1

The quilt will be made up of nine different blocks, one per month, each stitched out four times. They are Quilt As You Go Blocks, embroidered and quilted in the hoop. The blocks will be assembled into a finished wall size quilt at the month 10 class. The finished size of mine will be 30″ x 30″ since I am doing the 5 inch blocks. My machine cannot do the 8 inch size.

~*~

Here are my completed blocks for month one.

Stitch outs are done, but have not trimmed excess stabilizer and batting yet.

Stitch outs are done, but have not trimmed excess stabilizer and batting yet. (Waiting for month 10 to do any trimming.)

The edges have not been trimmed after removal from the hoop, you are seeing the stabilizer and batting in addition to the blocks. We will trim all blocks at the month 10 class. This way, we won’t be trimming an incorrect edge and having to re-do the block. These four will be the outermost corner blocks of the finished quilt.

~*~

And here is what they look like from the back (again, they are not trimmed).

Stitches from the back side.  You will see these stitches when the quilt is complete.

Stitches from the back side. You will see these stitches when the quilt is complete.

~*~

Here are the fabrics and threads that I chose.

Fabric & Thread

~*~

This is the Fabric and Thread Guide to keep track of what goes where.

(oops! I can’t find the picture.  i will post it when i find it.)

~*~

We will have our demo for Block Two on the 11th of September. Hopefully I will have photos of new stitch outs done shortly after.


8 responses to “All Four Stitch Outs of Block One Done!

  • Rhonda

    COOL! Thanks for sharing your method.

  • laurie hays

    GORGEOUS! I saw this pattern and fell in LOVE!! Do you happen to have a photo of your completed project? Love Crazy Compass. Is it hard? Have never quilted before but have a fab machine.

    • June

      Laurie,
      Sorry for so long to reply to your comment.
      If you go to HoopSisters.com you will find a link to join their Yahoo group. Several members that have completed their Crazy Compass quilt have posted photos. I am currently working on block 7 (of 9). We have also started the newest Block of the Month called TNT which is for Textures & New Techniques. It is on the home page of Hoop Sisters right now.
      Most of the Crazy Compass blocks are easy, but there are two of the nine blocks that are a bit more challenging. Each block is stitched out 4 times for the completed quilt.
      I will get more pictures of my blocks posted soon.
      June

  • Samantha

    Just found the pics of the first Crazy compass blocks.

    did you ever finish and are there more to see what it looks like in your choice of fabric?

    I’m too far from a shop to get into this program. do you know if there is an on-line program?

    TIA
    Sam

  • June

    Samantha,
    Yes, I have finished the rest of the blocks. I scanned them and have them ready to post. I still need to assemble the blocks into the final quilt, and will most likely post all photos at that time.
    As far as I know, you can only currently get the Crazy Compass and TNT blocks through a shop/dealer. They are a Block of the Month design and we could only receive one block design each month. If I understand correctly, HoopSisters may make these Block of the Month designs available for purchase about 2 years or so after it is the featured project for a particular year.
    HoopSisters has other designs that you can purchase that are the same style of quilt in the hoop. Also, if you look around online, there are many other digitizers that have similar quilt in the hoop blocks and projects available for purchase.
    Thanks for your comment and check back in a few weeks for the rest of the photos.
    June

  • June

    I just saw a post by HoopSisters on Facebook that the Crazy Compass Design set will be available to buy and make at home without taking a class beginning Jan.1st.

  • Annie Moody

    Hi June,

    Just found your blog. What a wonderful way to document all your projects. Glad to hear Hoopsisters is one of them. You might be interested in joining our Yahoo Group. Lots of tips and photo albums of all our members projects.

    You are right the Crazy Compass will be available Jan. 1. Keep stitchin!

    Love,
    Annie

  • June

    Hi Annie,
    I do belong to your Yahoo group, I love the inspiration there.
    I have completely assembled and top stitched the project, just need to bind it. I just moved, so things are progressing slowly.
    I would just like to comment that it is too bad that this project was only available in 5″ and 8″ sizes. I would have loved to do larger than 5″ blocks, but my machine will only go as wide as 7″ so my only option was the 5″ size (well, I guess I could have bought a new machine, but that really is not an option or even a desire~I love my machine). There is a LOT of time invested in this project and I would liked to have had something larger to show for it, but it is definately a beautiful project.
    I also have your Butterflies and Friends set, and hope to try those some day soon.

Leave a comment